Yellow Bullet Forums banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
277 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
finally hooked up the zex kit it got.gonna try it out tomorrow. only gonna put 100hp to it. my question is whats gonna be the safe tuneup. this is on a 383sbc 14:1. i did put a seprate fuel system up front with 1 gal cell holly blue pump -6 line,run the car at 40* timing

zex instructions say to run 46n 43f jets for 100hp, run 6psi fuel pressure(im gonna run 112 on motor,112 on nitrous)and take out 4 degrees timing,run standard plugs(which i run 8's) 950psi pressure

had a nitrous guy down at local chassis shop yesterday tell me
run same jets,7 psi fuel pressure(get 114 nitrous fuel)take out 6-8 degrees timing,run 10 plugs and 1000psi

im thinkin zex setup-but its hard to say no to this guy cuz i know he has done alot with nitrous and what he runs, this is my first time sprayin a car, sprayed my fourwheelers and snowmobiles so i somewhat know what is goin on and i think the 2nd setup is a lil overkill safe for only 100hp. just getting some 2nd opinions on what you guys think thanks

·
Registered
453 Posts
I went with those jets for my 100 shot and it ran pretty good. I also ran just pump 93 and 10:1 but plugs looked decent if anything I could have leaned it out. Dont know how relevent that info is for you but the spread in the instructions seem to be pretty close for me.

·
Registered
76 Posts
Stay with the ZEX instructions. You will still be FAT. Might even start with 5.5 fuel pressure.

I would use a -9 spark plug, start with 32 degrees total, 112 fuel, 950 psi bottle pressure.

Just my opinion.

·
Registered
27,956 Posts
What cylinder head? 40 degrees is a lot of base, pulling out 4 probably might be a little borderline. Really don't see a need for a -10 plug either. -9 should be sufficcient, I would think.

And agree with others, 6 lbs will likely still be fat. Maybe Monte or Steve will chime in as I'm sure they both have had experience with these plates.

·
Registered