Yellow Bullet Forums banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have been racing and competing on lists for about 5 years now, and after messing around with street cars, I finally stepped up to something a bit more prepped. An online friend of mine, Brian Denman, listed up his 2006 Lancer Evolution drag car up for sale back in November as a roller, and I promptly grabbed it up!

When he had the car, he went 10.21 @ 133 on the stock turbo, which continues to hold the stock turbo record. He then put on an FP Red turbo, which is the stock turbo frame that FP puts a larger wheel in, and he went 9.54 @ 145 mph. For about a year, he held the record for the stock frame turbo. He then threw on a modified 35r turbo, and went 9.0 @ 157 mph, which is simply amazing for these cars.

I have been working with Street Tuned Motorsports to get this car finished up, and here is a few shots from the build, and where it sits now:

As of last night, we put in 4 gallons of E85, primed the pump, and had no leaks. This week, we should get the car on the dyno, tune it, and hopefully hit the track this weekend. Oh, and on the scales, she is doing pretty well!

This is 700 pounds lighter than stock, and it still has the full interior. That includes the passenger seat and bracket, the center console, carpet, the factory wheels and tires. There is an easy 100 pounds left that will come out for race prep, so she should scoot along just nicely.

Last year I was in 4th place for the 2009 stock turbo record list, going 11.010 @ 124.55 mph. I am hoping that I can at least go 10.50 on this setup now, since it will be up about 50 - 75 hp, and weigh in about 300 - 400 pounds lighter.

Last year I cut consistent 1.480 60' on DOT Hoosiers, so I am hoping to get those down to the 1.399 range this year as well.

Glad to be on the site :partyman:

--mark

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter #6