Yellow Bullet Forums banner

1 - 20 of 327 Posts

·
Registered
342 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
As Requested. Put it all up in here. Any and all welcome.

NO Bashing of others!

PM me if anything needs attention, I'll try and visit frequently as well.

·
Registered
207 Posts
I'm no expert by any means, but as far as the ride height is concerned, I would say it all depends on whether or not you are able to maintain the proper angle of the LCA's. Thats the issue that I'm having with my car right now; I'm going to try adding the rubber isolators back to the top of the springs to see how it helps. I believe Racecraft offers come LCA brackets that have like 5 or 7 holes in them, which should make having a lower car easier to tune.

·
Registered
3,045 Posts
According to that article, the IC is the intersection point of the torque arm centerline and the lca. If this is true, then why are most torque arms so long? Surely there's more to it than just that, otherwise, wouldn't a short torque arm that doesn't extend so far up into the tight confines of the tailshaft area be way better? (Having more room toward the rear to make multiple t.a. mounting points)

·
Registered
453 Posts
Dont know if the article is true but if you look at TA's by Madman, BMR, etc the drag racing app TA's are shorter and Madman's has multiple points like you stated but dont know about the others. I am new to this also and just been doing some searching wish someone had a nice site like Baselines 4 link calc for torque arm cars with pics illustrating what we need to do to get our values.

·
Registered
140 Posts
I love this sticky! LCA angle is critical yes, in any car, but the lower the car gets, the harder it is to get a decent IC height due to the front LCA mount being so low. Now, of course if you bring enough steam, well, who needs the IC up there? If you don't have the power, the IC has to be relatively higher/shorter. How much, is fully a function of the CG height of the car.