Discussion Starter · #1 ·

·
TATER NATION
6,036 Posts
You think the mech. still has a job?

·
Registered
1,468 Posts
Wow, a loose clamp could've killed people . When you think about it it's a very scary thing. The pilot was one cool customer tho.

·
Registered
17,923 Posts
Yep, everyone is a good pilot until something goes wrong. Good training goes a long way towards being cool when things go bad.

I was a trained as a pilot in the USAF and have flown a few aircraft here and there. Most of my flying in the last 20 year has been with Ultralites - you know the little planes that use snowmobile type engines on them. When you fly these, you better count on having an engine failure and I've landed many times with no engine.

Mine has a 2 seats and I would take other people flying with me. Once on floats I was taking some guy up and the engine quit about 200 ft in the air. No big deal, lots of water to land in. So we landed, and are bobbing in the waves, then he turned to me and the initial conversation went like this:

"What are we doing?"
"The engine quit".
"Oh, I didn't know that".
"That's okay, I'm the one who needs to know".....
:cool:

·
Registered
238 Posts
Yep, everyone is a good pilot until something goes wrong. Good training goes a long way towards being cool when things go bad.

I was a trained as a pilot in the USAF and have flown a few aircraft here and there. Most of my flying in the last 20 year has been with Ultralites - you know the little planes that use snowmobile type engines on them. When you fly these, you better count on having an engine failure and I've landed many times with no engine.

Mine has a 2 seats and I would take other people flying with me. Once on floats I was taking some guy up and the engine quit about 200 ft in the air. No big deal, lots of water to land in. So we landed, and are bobbing in the waves, then he turned to me and the initial conversation went like this:

"What are we doing?"
"The engine quit".
"Oh, I didn't know that".