Yellow Bullet Forums banner
1 - 20 of 42 Posts

·
Registered
1,133 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Moved the battery to the trunk and this is my first time wiring a switch with an efi set up. After much reading, I’m a little lost.

It sounds like people were losing tunes in their ecm if the switch was flipped or burning up ecm’s from a voltage spike. I’ve got a 145 amp truck alternator on the car. I’ve also read people using the field wire to the switch instead of the charge wire on the alt.

Which switch should I use and how do I wire this thing correctly so I don’t burn up the alt or computer? Thanks for any help.

I was looking at the flaming river 6 post (fr-1013) that is rated for 150amp continuous and grounds voltage spike as a safety through a resistor to ground.

·
Banned
18,113 Posts
I have Holley EFI in both of my cars, and have installed and tuned many systems. Holleys ECM main power wires right to the battery, nowhere else! I use 4 pole battery disconnect switches. Main set of terminals kill the positive side of the battery circuit. Small secondary set is used to kill the fuel pump relay. Hit that switch while the engine is running, it will shut off practically instantly. Yes, there is still that #10 wire running to the ECM, but with a 30 amp fuse by the battery, I'm not worried about it.

·
Registered
1,133 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
My Holley ECU is directly to the battery terminals , but the keyed 12 volts will shut off with the kill switch .

Hitting the kill switch is no different that turning the key off , Im not sure how that would hurt the ECU .
I’m running a stock computer. But it’s wired to a keyed 12v panel and a constant. Isn’t the switch constant 12? How would wiring the keyed side to the switch work?

·
Registered
1,133 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·