Yellow Bullet Forums banner

1 - 20 of 152 Posts

·
Registered
9,034 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I was wondering whatever became of a study buddy I had in college in the 1990s recently. When I knew her, she was about 30, recently divorced and had a couple of young kids. After the classes we had together, we kept in loose contact for a couple years but eventually we drifted apart. She crossed my mind once in a while whenever I would drive though her old neighborhood or by her old place of work.

A quick Google search found an obituary - she passed in April of 2014. Damn. The obit didn't specify how she had died, so I Googled some more. It turns out she drowned in her home's swimming pool. Wow, that's a shock. When she and I studied, we would do so at her house, and she had a pool. More than once we studied in and around the pool (yeah, yeah - I know! :cool:). She was a good swimmer. I seem to recall she told me she was on the swim team at her HS, but shit can happen, I guess.

There were dozens more articles on her, though, because apparently what at first appeared to be an accidental drowning, was later ruled to be a homicide, and the suspected murderer one her sons because insurance and inheritance was mentioned as a motive. There hasn't been enough evidence to arrest him to this point (the case is still cold), but a wrongful death lawsuit was filed against him in 2015 by the deceased's husband (she had remarried). I haven't dug deep enough to know how that turned out, yet.

This got me thinking about several other people I have known who have been murdered: a couple girls I went to HS with, a guy I used to race with, a girl I used to work with, and a few others. I even know a couple people who have murdered.

What about you? Know anyone who has been murdered? Know any murderers...? :unsure:

·
Registered
3,293 Posts
Guy I kinda grew up with (went to school with both his younger bros and was friends with both) turned out to be a murderer. Killed a few people.