Yellow Bullet Forums banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
56 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I need the bullets expertise! I was running a hyd. flat tappet cam in my pontiaac 461 stroker last year with a Torker intake and this year I switched to a Victor intake and a solid roller. The cam has .688 lift and 255/263 duration @.50. The car runs the same E.T and the same mph. Do you think my carb is two small? I'm running a 950 HP. Last year I tried taller tires and the car went exactly the same and now this year the same thing. Any help or advice would be awesome.

·
Registered
523 Posts
There are several threads here about the 950HP's only flow about 830 cfm. If thats the case then that's probably not enough for your 461 poncho, but I am no expert.

What kind of cyl head, and flow numbers if you got them would help

·
Registered
56 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
Thanks for the replys. My heads are KRE aluminum 85cc combustion and flow 310 @ 600 int. and 248 exh. My fuel system is just a Holley street strip mech. pump. My old cam speced. at 239/[email protected] with 559injt. 568 exh. Other then the cam and intake I'm running the same combo. 3500 stall in a TH400 with 4.10 geared 12 bolt with 30" drag radials and the car weighs 3900 w/driver. The motor has 10.5 compression and is running on 93 octane.

·
Registered
204 Posts
Do a vacuum check while making a pass if it's over 4" at wot then the carb would be the restriction. If its under 2" then the carb would be too big, for optimum performance. At least that is what I have been told by a few racers and it seems to work real well as a measuring stick.

·
Registered
2,215 Posts
I would look into the fuel system also. I don't think you have enough fuel pump.