Yellow Bullet Forums banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
16,465 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I've been using a System 1 oil filter on my car for 6 years or so. It's got a 30 micron SS mesh filter that has been cleaned several times with mineral spirits followed by hot water/w dish washing soap. After it gets a good back flush from the house water hose, then I blow it out with compressed air from the inside out as if I were trying to back flush it.

I'm starting to wonder at some point if it can be cleaned more thoroughly or should I replace it with a new element. Never had a problem with it but when I talked with a manufacturer of these type of filter elements years ago I seem to remember him stating that you can never clean them 100% back to new condition.

These are the same type mesh filters used in many of the aftermarket fuel filters, just a larger size. Anyone have any useful information on this subject?

·
Long Live The King
102,243 Posts
Before I switched to the Baldwin filters I ran the System 1's for years ( like 12-15 years)

Always flushed them from the inside out with diesel fuel first, then in the solvent tank, followed by the air gun, then soaked them in diesel fuel for a few minutes, then hit with the air hose.

I always flushed them first in a clean black catch pan to better see what came out of them. At the second treatment of diesel fuel there was never anything left to come out of them.

·
Registered
16,465 Posts
Discussion Starter #3 (Edited)
Before I switched to the Baldwin filters I ran the System 1's for years ( like 12-15 years)

Always flushed them from the inside out with diesel fuel first, then in the solvent tank, followed by the air gun, then soaked them in diesel fuel for a few minutes, then hit with the air hose.

I always flushed them first in a clean black catch pan to better see what came out of them. At the second treatment of diesel fuel there was never anything left to come out of them.