Yellow Bullet Forums banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
I have a liter of cola
7,101 Posts
Umm, not so fast...This one may get sticky for the homeowner yet. Care to guess why?

·
I have a liter of cola
7,101 Posts
Hopefully, Indiana is a Castle Doctrine state.
It is, however you have to look at the wording of the law and its sub-sections. The perp was shot in the back...

Does this mean he was fleeing?
If so, at the point of flight, based on most castle doctrines, is there anymore iminent danger?

I am not a lawyer...

Be it enacted by the General Assembly of the State of Indiana:

SECTION 1. IC 35-41-3-2 IS AMENDED TO READ AS FOLLOWS [EFFECTIVE JULY 1, 2006]: Sec. 2. (a) A person is justified in using reasonable force against another person to protect the person or a third person from what the person reasonably believes to be the imminent use of unlawful force. However, a person:
(1) is justified in using deadly force; only and
(2) does not have a duty to retreat;
if the person reasonably believes that that force is necessary to prevent serious bodily injury to the person or a third person or the commission of a forcible felony. No person in this state shall be placed in legal jeopardy of any kind whatsoever for protecting the person or a third person by reasonable means necessary.
(b) A person:
(1) is justified in using reasonable force, including deadly force, against another person; and
if the person reasonably believes that the force is necessary to prevent or terminate the other person's unlawful entry of or attack on the person's dwelling, or curtilage, or occupied motor vehicle.
(c) With respect to property other than a dwelling, or curtilage, or an occupied motor vehicle, a person is justified in using reasonable force against another person if the person reasonably believes that the