Yellow Bullet Forums banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
5,575 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Looking at putting some of my parts I have laying around. Assembly should be right at 800Hp mark and was wondering what you guys think would be the better block,

Gen IV or Gen VI, all thinks being equal, .030 over and hard blocked to bottom of waterpump holes.

Gen IV 361959 older block but not sure if these would be stronger. 2 bolt block as of now.

Gen VI 10237297 standard deck as well, BUT I like the priority main oiling these have. And is OEM 4 bolt main.

THOUGHTS?????? I am leaning towards the Gen VI but does these block require any special of GEN VI only stuff like the Gen V's (cranks, rods, heads, cams etc)?

Thanks John

·
Registered
295 Posts
I've been running Gen VI block for nearly 15 years now, roots boosted @ 10 lbs about 850 hp. No problems.
Besides what's already mentioned, watch what head gasket you use on it (especially if you go to an aftermarket head) - the coolant flow is a little different.
Front timing cover is different - you'll need to change it to run a double roller chain - cam uses a thrust plate to control end play.

·
Registered
3,093 Posts
I would go with the GenVI block for all of the above reasons. Maybe I would sonic test both blocks and let that be my deciding factor. Thickest cyl wall for the win.

I have been shopping for a GenVI 502 block for quite some time. They are hard to come by. I want to build a street 4.5 bore engine.

·
Registered
979 Posts
I've been running a gen VI block making around 800 on motor and 1100 on nitrous in my river boat for some time and it has been no problems to me. I'd run the VI

·
Registered
2,379 Posts