Yellow Bullet Forums banner

1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
1,076 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
anyone working on the marcellus shale, i am thinking about dropping out of college to just work. I am a sophomore and about sick of school. I have talked to people whos family was gauranteed 30 years of work as a drilling operator and the field is booming.

·
Registered
7,293 Posts
Aug 24 2011
How much is higher education worth in cold hard money? A college master's degree is worth $1.3 million more in lifetime earnings than a high school diploma, according to a recent report from the U.S. Census Bureau.

The report titled "The Big Payoff: Educational Attainment and Synthetic Estimates of Work-Life Earnings" (.pdf) reveals that over an adult's working life, high school graduates can expect, on average, to earn $1.2 million; those with a bachelor's degree, $2.1 million; and people with a master's degree, $2.5 million.

Persons with doctoral degrees earn an average of $3.4 million during their working life, while those with professional degrees do best at $4.4 million.

·
Registered
37,960 Posts
anyone working on the marcellus shale, i am thinking about dropping out of college to just work. I am a sophomore and about sick of school. I have talked to people whos family was gauranteed 30 years of work as a drilling operator and the field is booming.
Try to tough it out and finish up and get your degree.

The Marcellus will be there in two years. Will your desire to go back and finish up after 10 years of hard labor get to you?

The degree (no matter what its in) will always put you ahead of the candidate for employment who doesn't have one ... rightly or wrongly.

·
Registered
521 Posts
The only thing reliable about the oil patch, is its unreliable!!!!

There is no guarantee what so ever......oil companys change their mind and funding more than anyone changes their underwear.