Yellow Bullet Forums banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
1,002 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I've always been interested in diving. I took my kids on a 2 hour demo in Brighton a few weeks ago through a place called Aquatic Adventures. Had a great time.

My question is this, has anyone here bought any gear second hand? I need to equip myself and my two sons. I'd like to get some tanks and a few regulators. Looking for advice.

·
Registered
923 Posts
My son and I have been diving for 7 years. It is really a great time, especially if you go to the Caribbean - we hit the BVI every other year. As to gear, the only way I would recommend buying anything used is if a certified shop checked it over and gave a green light. Diving has a big potential to be dangerous - when stuff goes wrong 80-90' down, it goes wrong fast. If I have a problem in the dragster, I stop and step out. Any issues on a dive, you need time to surface. The gear is expensive, no getting around it. Once you make the initial expenditure, annual checkups/rebuilds aren't that bad. You have to keep in mind, people really do die diving. On the bright side, kids can make great divers - my son certified when he was 10, and I feel very safe with him as my partner.

·
Registered
753 Posts
I for a long time, until I broke an ear-drum. Unless you were buying from a VERY good friend whom you trusted (and I would still have it checked) I would say your best option would be to purchase from your local dive shop. I know the one I used for years had a trade-in program, so they always had used stuff.

It's a great hobby, and great way to spend some time.

·
Registered
720 Posts