Yellow Bullet Forums banner

1 - 20 of 58 Posts

·
Registered
1,087 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Was just diagnosed with sleep apnea last week and picked up my CPAP machine yesterday so last night was my first night wearing it and wondering how long before I get used to wearing it at night? The lady who did my orientation with it said I should be good in a day or two. It seems pretty unnatural to try and sleep with that on.

·
Registered
5,068 Posts
I have been using on for almost 3 years now.
It took me a good few weeks to get used to it.
Honestly sleep is a whole lot more productive and restful using it. As long as i have access to 110volt power i take it wherever i go when not home as well.
I use what they call full face ( covers nose and mouth ).
Stick with it and force yourself to wear it , sleep without it once and a while either unintentionally or when tent camping far from power, and i will feel the difference.

·
Registered
1,924 Posts
The machine & treatment saved my life. I am so much more healthy
because of it. Wear it every night, all night for the last 7 years.

Can't imagine living without it. How long to get use to it? Truly, never.
It does get better. Just resign yourself to the fact that you are going
to wear it!

·
Registered
1,175 Posts
They SUCK!! But as mentioned above, they really help sleep be better. Ive been using one for 9 years and still hate that damn mask.

·
Registered
1,787 Posts
I have been using one for a little over 4 years. It takes a little while. In the beginning I had a hard time waking up. Felt like I was in a sleep chamber.

·
Registered
10,178 Posts
Been on a CPAP for 12 years and I sleep like a baby for 7+ hours a night........ Took a few weeks to get use to but I can’t live without it now. 😴
The "trick" is to find a mask and head gear that is "comfortable"........ If there is such a thing.

·
Registered
1,087 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·