Yellow Bullet Forums banner

1 - 20 of 39 Posts

·
Registered
1,779 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have a 540 with an F2, A/A ic & Rodneys water / meth set up running 50/50.

I'm still learning the transbrake, start line procedure so the bottom end is a bit raggy but thats me not the car. Launching in 2nd top end is 150mph @ 9.7 seconds so its making power. Engine is at about 6400 at this speed. Engine limit is set at 7200. Prologger shows AF @ 11.5 / 12:1 but to be honest I'm still learning so can't look at & remember every reading 100%.

My question is have I got my timing right?

I'm currently locked out at 30* and have 1* coming out per lb boost & have 16# pulleys on. I am at the moment hitting around 12-13# at the top end. Also have a set of -9 NGK's to go in this week. It feels very strong in the 2nd to third shift and really pulls ass in the final 1/8th but am I leaving 'safe' power on the deck?

At the moment I've set this all up pretty much on guess work. Car is both street and strip driven due to the class I am in. Aiming for mid to high 8's when I get my start line shit sorted & am confident I have the timing right.

NGK-9 plugs what gap should I have these at?
Can I go higher with the initial locked timing say 32-34-higher or is 30* ok?
Should I pull more timing per # boost 2lbs? or less 1/2lb?
What # level should I start to pull timing at?
What boost level should I start the water / meth? (progressive system).

I'd appreciate all input & why you think so too as understanding the reasons behind changes is I feel as important as the change it'self.

Thank you in advance.

·
Procharged SBC Enthusiast
5,150 Posts