Yellow Bullet Forums banner

1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
7,432 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi Guys, Looking for some tuneup advice. This is my first attempt at cutting plugs apart to check them. These plugs have 3 1/8 mile passes on them. The car was towed to the lanes and back to the pits on all 3 passes. The first pass, it spun the tires 6 feet into the pass and I aborted the pass and drove part throttle till I was off the track. Hope that does not screw up the reading on these plugs. :confused:

24* Victor headed 509bbc, nitrous cam, 1050cfm Quickfuel carb in a 3450lb door car.
Single stage NS fogger 32N-24F, 5.4 lbs flowed though a .073 jet
Base timing is 36* pulling -12* (-6* with crank trigger and -6* with MSD 7530 box) so 24 degrees total
R5671A-9 NGK's, VP C16

On the last pass, I added .3* of timing so 24.3 degrees total and the car picked up 1mph.

It looks fairly fat to me. I'm unsure about timing and heat in the plugs. For what it's worth, the two full passes were the two quickest passes the car has ever made.

·
Registered
7,432 Posts
Discussion Starter #8
Next time only make one pass on the plugs until you get the tune figured out .
Ok, I'll do that going forward. I'm pretty new at trying to tune my nitrous setup and trying to learn all I can. I'll take any advise I can get. Thanks

·
Registered
824 Posts
I would go to a -10 plug. It sounds like you have the phasing off by the way you described your timing? Base timing is not at 36 anymore if you moved the crank trigger. That might be where you are still phased, which is not good.

I would change plugs, pull a couple more degrees, and then lean it out. But before you pull any more timing, make sure the distributor is phased around 26 degrees.

·
eats paint chips
1,923 Posts