Yellow Bullet Forums banner

1 - 20 of 47 Posts

·
Misanthropist
3,142 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
For the record.......who's aluminum rods are actually FORGED, as opposed to just cut-out aluminum "plate"??

·
Registered
49,436 Posts
BME is the only company I know of.

·
Misanthropist
3,142 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
BME is one.....

Yes. I'm aware that BME is one. And as far as I'm aware, they are the ONLY forged aluminum rod. I do strongly believe that all the others are merely cut (CNC'd) out of aluminum plate stock.

·
RED ROCKET
8,630 Posts
if i ever go to an alum rod it will be bme rods.

·
Registered
224 Posts
I wouldn't get too caught up in the "forged vs. billet" argument. I worked as a manufacturing engineer in the aircraft industry for years, and most all aircraft prints specify grain direction of wrought plate or "forged billets". When I began designing my own products, I started to question how important this was. I called every aircraft design engineer I knew and asked them to QUANTIFY the benifits of grain direction. They all said the same thing: "Oh, it's VERY important!". But none of them could tell me specifically HOW important (it's all imbedded in the stress analysis software these days). I finally called a materials testing lab. I got the old guy who runs the physical tests on material every day, and asked him what the difference is between testing an aluminum sample transverse to the grain and along the grain. His reply was "What thickness are we talking about?" When I asked him to elaborate, he explained his findings. Thin sheet will behave differently, since the majority of the material is worked during the rolling process. And then, the only major difference is the amount of elongation before rupture (but this is WAY past the elastic range of the material anyway). I asked him about 1" plate. He said the amount of "skin" that is subjected to the affects of roll forging a plate are so negligable that he can't tell the difference between the t