Yellow Bullet Forums banner

1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Registered
9,523 Posts
I have some in a car I am just finishing up right now. We should fire it later this afternoon. So far they seem like nice cables.

·
Registered
578 Posts
I have no personal experience with the cable, but a good friend installed some in his T/D and had to re-cable the car at Z-Max (first race out)....would start fine once or twice and then dead! Not sure if the cable was heating up, but he re-cabled it with welding cable and everything was fine! Good luck using it...let us know your experience.

·
Registered
26,607 Posts
I would suggest using a larger size than if it is straight copper. Still save weight though. I think if you undersize the cable, you will notice it more with the aluminum base.

·
Registered
1,076 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
I would suggest using a larger size than if it is straight copper. Still save weight though. I think if you undersize the cable, you will notice it more with the aluminum base.
Ray, it seems the concensus opinion from the resident experts is to use 1/0 gauge copper battery cable. So, if you're recommending 1/0 gauge in copper and the largest size Accel offers in their aluminum cables is 1/0 then, the largest Accel cable would be inadequate, correct?

·
Registered
26,607 Posts
Ray, it seems the concensus opinion from the resident experts is to use 1/0 gauge copper battery cable. So, if you're recommending 1/0 gauge in copper and the largest size Accel offers in their aluminum cables is 1/0 then, the largest Accel cable would be inadequate, correct?
No, it would be all right. The reason that 1/0 copper is recommended the most as it is about the same price as 1 gauge, which is what most cars need. But going to fine strand you should up size, add that 1/0 is more readily available, better variety of ends, etc, so most just go with the 1/0.