Yellow Bullet Forums banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
783 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm new to the A/W IC game. I'm hoping to make some passes for the first time this week with my new setup, if the rain stays away. Would anyone care to share their iceing routine? How long do you let the pump run in the pits? When do you turn your pump on before making a pass? I have a PT2000 IC, 8 gal tank, 1" lines, and a Rule 3700 pump if it matters. Thanks

·
Registered
1,208 Posts
Pre-chill in the pits. Once you have the core good and cold & your ready to move to the stagings lanes, drain a majority of the water and pack with ice. Make sure you leave enough water to keep your entire system primed.

If the lanes are packed with cars, we have taken an ice chest and drain bucket with us on the golf cart. Drained out water and added more ice while waiting.

I have experimented with many different things. What worked the best for my set up was somewhere after burn out, but before tripping the first bulb, turn your pump on.

Good Luck & don't be afraid to experiment with your set up.

Semper Fi!
-Mikie

·
Registered
1,208 Posts
...and if you haven't made any footbrake-transbrake (if you are auto) hits with the air to water cooler full of cold water and circulating you might want to do that first. It is likely that your tune will be a little off.

Try to be consistent with all of your temps to. Such as, engine, tranny etc.

I found that the engines, both big block and small block, iron and aluminum, single and twin set ups, did best with a starting line temp of no less that 150* when running C16 and Q16

Semper Fi!
-Mikie

·
Registered
783 Posts
Discussion Starter #4