Yellow Bullet Forums banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
154 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Need some help,need to wire a plug at rear of RV for trailer power.The trailer has 50 amp service cord would like keep it 240 volts but can adapt it down to 30 amps,how do you wire it,directly to onan gen or to elect panel box near rear of rv

·
T/S 368E
32,435 Posts

I'm no expert, but I always like an extra breaker box.

·
Registered
13,485 Posts
to be proper and legal, you are suppose to have the extra safety ground in the plug that goes to the chassis and the other one directly to gen set.

·
Registered
5,680 Posts
Need some help,need to wire a plug at rear of RV for trailer power.The trailer has 50 amp service cord would like keep it 240 volts but can adapt it down to 30 amps,how do you wire it,directly to onan gen or to elect panel box near rear of rv
Ok I'll take a gander and risk of flame throwers on this matter. I have several questions for you. Is this for a RV camping OR is this so you can use a generator at the track?They also do make plug adapters for 50 to 30 amps. You can also have a friend make a small pig tail adapter that will work for the exact generator you have. Does your 50 amp plug feed a existing circuit breaker panel. I would think it does. The second thing is there spare space for 2 additional circuit breakers in that panel, ok also some panels you can use mini circuit breakers so adding 2 more circuits may be accomplished. If the answers to both questions is "YES" then its easy. Now a third question on that 50 amp plug how many prongs does it have.