solenoids staying open? - Yellow Bullet Forums
;

Go Back   Yellow Bullet Forums > Technical Section > Nitrous - Induction Solutions

Nitrous - Induction Solutions

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-26-2019, 07:05 AM   #1
corcon
Senior Member
Smoked another BBC
 
corcon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 2,563
Default solenoids staying open?

My friend has a speedtech fogger on his car. Worked great for 2 years,last time out the solenoids stayed on after he was off the micro switch. Not good. Motor is fixed now and we were testing the electrical and found the 30A bosch relay was staying on after the ground trigger to the relay was removed. We assume the relay was over worked and fried. Same relay I was using with my induction solutions fogger. Do we need a higher amp relay for speedtech stuff?
corcon is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 08-26-2019, 07:37 AM   #2
mrdragster1970
T/S 368E
Smoked Another SBC
 
mrdragster1970's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Chicago, far SW suburbs, RT 66 Dragway
Posts: 25,226
Default Re: solenoids staying open?

.


Throw a meter on each noid and label them.
That way you can see if they are changing, and know what rating relay you need.
IIRC, all mine are now 40A.

.
__________________
I have used BBC-Dragrace-MSD equipment- 4 sale, personally listed items only.

For my babies, we will always remember.
In memory of Chris
Costa, you will never meet a nicer guy. I will never forget your kindness, when I needed it.
mrdragster1970 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2019, 07:50 AM   #3
corcon
Senior Member
Smoked another BBC
 
corcon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 2,563
Default Re: solenoids staying open?

Are yours speedtech?
corcon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2019, 08:12 AM   #4
mrdragster1970
T/S 368E
Smoked Another SBC
 
mrdragster1970's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Chicago, far SW suburbs, RT 66 Dragway
Posts: 25,226
Default Re: solenoids staying open?

.

No, that's why you need to measure yours.
I had no issue with my 30A relays, but when I rewired the car, I decided to grab the 40's just in case.
IIRC, each stage only draws 24A, but I would have to check my notebook to be sure.
I wanted to have a bigger window, 100% personal preference.

All our stuff is NOS.

.
__________________
I have used BBC-Dragrace-MSD equipment- 4 sale, personally listed items only.

For my babies, we will always remember.
In memory of Chris
Costa, you will never meet a nicer guy. I will never forget your kindness, when I needed it.
mrdragster1970 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2019, 11:55 AM   #5
corcon
Senior Member
Smoked another BBC
 
corcon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 2,563
Default Re: solenoids staying open?

Just realised that the relay crap the bed after we went to a 16v battery. How does amperage change with voltage??
corcon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2019, 12:32 PM   #6
nitrousdave
Member
Pullin gears
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 626
Default Re: solenoids staying open?

16V certainly didn't help. Ohm's law I=V/R. An example 12V system: 12V/1 ohm (solenoid coil)=12 amps. Insert values for your system to see how much current it draws.
__________________
www.nitrousdaves.com
relay boards, nitrous/transbrake modules, and fuel flowing timers
nitrousdave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2019, 12:51 PM   #7
corcon
Senior Member
Smoked another BBC
 
corcon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 2,563
Default Re: solenoids staying open?

Speedtech web site says more volts is less Amps.
corcon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2019, 01:24 PM   #8
mrdragster1970
T/S 368E
Smoked Another SBC
 
mrdragster1970's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Chicago, far SW suburbs, RT 66 Dragway
Posts: 25,226
Default Re: solenoids staying open?

.


Correct. Like at work, I install & maintain power supplies & battery back up systems.
I can set them for 60, 75 or 90 volts depending on what equipment is being used for that plant.
When we start flashing the system because the breaker is over loaded, I just kick it up to the next voltage and the amp draw goes down.

I also run 2 relays in parallel and 2 micro switches. I did that even back in the day before 16 volt battery's came out.
With 16v it's probably even more important??


.
__________________
I have used BBC-Dragrace-MSD equipment- 4 sale, personally listed items only.

For my babies, we will always remember.
In memory of Chris
Costa, you will never meet a nicer guy. I will never forget your kindness, when I needed it.
mrdragster1970 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2019, 01:39 PM   #9
juiced coupe 78
Senior Member
Smoked another BBC
 
juiced coupe 78's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Pascagoula, MS
Posts: 1,602
Default Re: solenoids staying open?

Thats too much load for those relays. Intermittent use is the only reason it lasted as long as it did.

Ignore the rating of the relay, the terminals aren't rated for it. The best quality terminal of that size I've found was only rated for 22 amps, some more like 15.

The common 60-80 amp relays are more along the lines of what you'd use on a load that size, they have much larger terminals. After about 40 amps or so, I switch to relays with ring terminals.
juiced coupe 78 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2019, 09:17 PM   #10
nitrousdave
Member
Pullin gears
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 626
Default Re: solenoids staying open?

Hooked a solenoid up to my power supply:
__________________
www.nitrousdaves.com
relay boards, nitrous/transbrake modules, and fuel flowing timers
nitrousdave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2019, 07:13 AM   #11
corcon
Senior Member
Smoked another BBC
 
corcon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 2,563
Default Re: solenoids staying open?

We got 70 A relays with the big blades. Thanks
corcon is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 08-30-2019, 11:53 AM   #12
Induction-Solutions
Moderator
Smoked Another SBC
 
Induction-Solutions's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Florida
Posts: 12,026
Default Re: solenoids staying open?

Quote:
Originally Posted by corcon View Post
My friend has a speedtech fogger on his car. Worked great for 2 years,last time out the solenoids stayed on after he was off the micro switch. Not good. Motor is fixed now and we were testing the electrical and found the 30A bosch relay was staying on after the ground trigger to the relay was removed. We assume the relay was over worked and fried. Same relay I was using with my induction solutions fogger. Do we need a higher amp relay for speedtech stuff?
Yes, if you compare our standard stuff to their's, they will require nearly twice the amp draw. As voltage goes up so does amps too.
__________________
Steve Johnson
www.InductionSolutions.com
http://www.facebook.com/#!/pages/Ind...06171102739096
815-341-8853 Cell
352-593-5900 Parts/Shop
[email protected]
Induction-Solutions is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:24 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Resources saved on this page: MySQL 0%
vBulletin Optimisation provided by vB Optimise (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Yellow Bullet LLC
 

Garage Plus vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.