What size coldside - Yellow Bullet Forums
;

Go Back   Yellow Bullet Forums > Technical Section > Turbo Charged - Precision Turbo & Engine

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-02-2013, 06:07 PM   #1
01snake
Junior Member
Spooled up
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Texas
Posts: 176
Default What size coldside

~800rwhp now ~1200 later

My turbo has a 3.5" outlet and my throttle body is 4"


I have a bunch of 3" or 3.5 or 4?
01snake is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 02-02-2013, 06:18 PM   #2
D1TKO
Senior Member
Smoked another BBC
 
D1TKO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: DFW
Posts: 1,646
Default Re: What size coldside

Quote:
Originally Posted by 01snake View Post
~800rwhp now ~1200 later

My turbo has a 3.5" outlet and my throttle body is 4"


I have a bunch of 3" or 3.5 or 4?
3.5 will support 2000rwhp
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dGJ4if5pLd8


you may also want to check out
http://www.theturboforums.com/thread...-forum-project

Last edited by D1TKO; 02-02-2013 at 06:19 PM.
D1TKO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2013, 07:28 PM   #3
TURBONOVA70
Senior Member
Smoked another BBC
 
TURBONOVA70's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: St. Louis
Posts: 1,291
Default Re: What size coldside

Quote:
Originally Posted by 01snake View Post
~800rwhp now ~1200 later

My turbo has a 3.5" outlet and my throttle body is 4"


I have a bunch of 3" or 3.5 or 4?
With those power goals i would go with the 3"
__________________
Midwest Turbo Center
WWW.STORES.CUSTOMRACINGTURBOS.COM
WWW.CUSTOMRACINGTURBOS.COM
WWW.TURBOREBUILDPARTS.COM
SPECIALIZING IN TURBO APPLICATIONS
AUTHORIZED DEALER FOR:
C.R.T. TURBOCHARGERS
GARRETT
TURBONETICS
BW AIR WERKS
HOLSET
C&S CARBS
HOLLEY EFI
FAST
TURBOSMART
TIAL
STAINLESS WORKS
CHRIS WATKINS
636-677-9591
TURBONOVA70 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2013, 07:34 PM   #4
01snake
Junior Member
Spooled up
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Texas
Posts: 176
Default Re: What size coldside

Anything that would hurt me by necking down the turbo?
01snake is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2013, 08:13 PM   #5
LilJohn
Senior Member
Smoked Another SBC
 
LilJohn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Bowling Green Ky
Posts: 9,666
Default Re: What size coldside

I wouldnt neck down the turbo outlet.

Do you have an intercooler?

What intake TB setup?
__________________

888-583-4408
www.LilJohnsMotorsports.com
[email protected]

Dealer for Brian Tooley Racing, Bullet Cams, Comp Cams, Borg Warner, Garrett, Forced Inductions, Callies, Wiseco, Billet Atomizer Injectors , Ultimate Converter Concepts, and many more.

Some men want the glory of being like John Force. Me, I wanna be Austin Coil.

Like us on Facebook:
https://www.facebook.com/?sk=nf#!/Li...sportSolutions
LilJohn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2013, 08:17 PM   #6
TURBONOVA70
Senior Member
Smoked another BBC
 
TURBONOVA70's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: St. Louis
Posts: 1,291
Default Re: What size coldside

Quote:
Originally Posted by 01snake View Post
Anything that would hurt me by necking down the turbo?
No because chances are that you may have a 3.5" outlet flange put if you measure the actual hole its probably smaller then 3"
__________________
Midwest Turbo Center
WWW.STORES.CUSTOMRACINGTURBOS.COM
WWW.CUSTOMRACINGTURBOS.COM
WWW.TURBOREBUILDPARTS.COM
SPECIALIZING IN TURBO APPLICATIONS
AUTHORIZED DEALER FOR:
C.R.T. TURBOCHARGERS
GARRETT
TURBONETICS
BW AIR WERKS
HOLSET
C&S CARBS
HOLLEY EFI
FAST
TURBOSMART
TIAL
STAINLESS WORKS
CHRIS WATKINS
636-677-9591
TURBONOVA70 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2013, 08:52 PM   #7
D1TKO
Senior Member
Smoked another BBC
 
D1TKO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: DFW
Posts: 1,646
Default Re: What size coldside

Quote:
Originally Posted by LilJohn View Post
I wouldnt neck down the turbo outlet.
I agree
D1TKO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2013, 09:03 PM   #8
01snake
Junior Member
Spooled up
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Texas
Posts: 176
Default Re: What size coldside

Turbo is a gt5518 and the intake is stock lq4 truck I take

No intercooler running straight into intake and running e98
01snake is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2013, 09:08 PM   #9
D1TKO
Senior Member
Smoked another BBC
 
D1TKO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: DFW
Posts: 1,646
Default Re: What size coldside

Quote:
Originally Posted by 01snake View Post
Turbo is a gt5518 and the intake is stock lq4 truck I take

No intercooler running straight into intake and running e98
what's your motor combination?
D1TKO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2013, 09:37 PM   #10
01snake
Junior Member
Spooled up
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Texas
Posts: 176
Default Re: What size coldside

Stock lq4 for now with cam, springs, pushrods , studs and gaskets
01snake is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2013, 09:49 PM   #11
LilJohn
Senior Member
Smoked Another SBC
 
LilJohn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Bowling Green Ky
Posts: 9,666
Default Re: What size coldside

Run it in 4 and be done.
__________________

888-583-4408
www.LilJohnsMotorsports.com
[email protected]

Dealer for Brian Tooley Racing, Bullet Cams, Comp Cams, Borg Warner, Garrett, Forced Inductions, Callies, Wiseco, Billet Atomizer Injectors , Ultimate Converter Concepts, and many more.

Some men want the glory of being like John Force. Me, I wanna be Austin Coil.

Like us on Facebook:
https://www.facebook.com/?sk=nf#!/Li...sportSolutions
LilJohn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2013, 01:12 PM   #12
longstroke
Huge Member
Smoked another BBC
 
longstroke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Surrency, GA
Posts: 1,397
Default Re: What size coldside

Quote:
Originally Posted by LilJohn View Post
Run it in 4 and be done.
From my research lately, this is the way to go.

I cant wait to see what kinda huge cold sides are on some set-ups at SGMP this month.........
longstroke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2013, 02:12 PM   #13
Widow_Maker
Chupa Cabra
Smoked Another SBC
 
Widow_Maker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Mcleansville, NC
Posts: 9,824
Default Re: What size coldside

That GT5518 with the .90AR along with the cam and engine combo should be a very stout running set-up. I'd do at least 3.5" if not 4".
__________________
RTCTTFMF!!!

[email protected] (1.21 60') True Street 275 (3290# RW) SOLD
Smallwood Race Developement
Mcleansville, NC
864-723-2892
Widow_Maker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2013, 05:41 PM   #14
01snake
Junior Member
Spooled up
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Texas
Posts: 176
Default Re: What size coldside

Sounds like a will do a 4"
01snake is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 02-03-2013, 09:03 PM   #15
3pedals
Gigity
Smoked another BBC
 
3pedals's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Canada eh
Posts: 3,136
Default Re: What size coldside

I did a 3.5" on my 6.0/S480 setup, for the simple reason that my turbo outlet is 3.5", and my carb hat inlet is 3.5". It makes ZERO sense to me to neck it down.
3pedals is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:34 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Resources saved on this page: MySQL 0%
vBulletin Optimisation provided by vB Optimise (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Yellow Bullet LLC
 

Garage Plus vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.