A1 rod bolts in Eagle rods? - Yellow Bullet Forums
;

Go Back   Yellow Bullet Forums > Technical Section > Naturally Aspirated - Uratchko Racing Engines

Naturally Aspirated - Uratchko Racing Engines

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-08-2019, 11:29 AM   #1
ITSNOTFASTENOUGH
Junior Member
Launchin
 
ITSNOTFASTENOUGH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: MORRISTOWN TENN
Posts: 396
Default A1 rod bolts in Eagle rods?

Have access to a brand new set of A1 rod bolts that are the same length and everything as the ARP 2000 bolts in my Eagle BBC rods. They are the AMS55844 material that is like 285,000 psi. Just curious if anyone has used something other than the recommended bolts by the rod manufacturer. Not a big deal to spend 140 on a set of L19s but these are given to me to use if they will work. They are both 1.800 underhead length, 7/16 thread and the shoulder that goes in the cap dowel is the exact same diameter as well. Just looking for input on this.
ITSNOTFASTENOUGH is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 11-08-2019, 12:48 PM   #2
bigblockmark
Senior Member
Smoked another BBC
 
bigblockmark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Paris Illinois
Posts: 3,859
Default Re: A1 rod bolts in Eagle rods?

Possible the big ends will need rehoned if torque or stretch are different.
bigblockmark is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2019, 01:13 PM   #3
MN Hemi
The Phantom Machinist
Smoked another BBC
 
MN Hemi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: I’m retiring this fall
Posts: 1,894
Default Re: A1 rod bolts in Eagle rods?

Quote:
Originally Posted by bigblockmark View Post
Possible the big ends will need rehoned if torque or stretch are different.
Iíve seen Eagle rods that donít repeat on size with the same bolts/caps pulled and reinstalled.
Itís not uncommon, if not almost necessary, to trim the cap and re-hone the rods from new.
New bolts with a different clamping value would be likely.
__________________

The Phantom Machinist
MN Hemi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2019, 01:44 PM   #4
ITSNOTFASTENOUGH
Junior Member
Launchin
 
ITSNOTFASTENOUGH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: MORRISTOWN TENN
Posts: 396
Default

I'm gonna have them resized. It's due a freshen up and a buddy had these bolts which are quite a bit stronger than 2000s, or l19s. I just didnt know if it was uncommon to use a different brand bolt than what each rod company comes with as long as it was the same dimensions.
ITSNOTFASTENOUGH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2019, 01:44 PM   #5
n2omike
Senior Member
Smoked Another SBC
 
n2omike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: West Virginia
Posts: 5,840
Default Re: A1 rod bolts in Eagle rods?

I bought a brand new set of rods once that had UPGRADED bolts installed. But, thing is... that's all they did. They popped out the old ones, and installed the new ones. Good thing I had them checked, as they were HORRIBLE, and ALL OVER THE PLACE.

If you swap to different bolts, AT LEAST get the rods checked by someone who is REPUTABLE. They will likely need re-done.

In addition, don't short cut anything... Machine Work is NOT a place to bargain shop!!!
__________________
1966 Mustang
3300lbs w/driver pump gas street car
306 w/200hp plate 4-speed toploader
9.88 @ 135.67
n2omike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2019, 03:08 PM   #6
ITSNOTFASTENOUGH
Junior Member
Launchin
 
ITSNOTFASTENOUGH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: MORRISTOWN TENN
Posts: 396
Default Re: A1 rod bolts in Eagle rods?

Well further research is that these are an ARP 3.5 material. I have the stretch numbers and of course I have a very good machine shop that can take care of everything. Is 3.5 a good material for a lighter weight rotating assembly but is sprayed a moderate amount of nitrous?
ITSNOTFASTENOUGH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2019, 04:58 PM   #7
Chevelle-Guy
Junior Member
Pre-Staged
 
Chevelle-Guy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Posts: 53
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ITSNOTFASTENOUGH View Post
Well further research is that these are an ARP 3.5 material. I have the stretch numbers and of course I have a very good machine shop that can take care of everything. Is 3.5 a good material for a lighter weight rotating assembly but is sprayed a moderate amount of nitrous?
I’m curious to know what they call for stretch.
Chevelle-Guy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2019, 08:35 PM   #8
ColeBalster
Member
Pullin gears
 
ColeBalster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Simi Valley, CA
Posts: 838
Default Re: A1 rod bolts in Eagle rods?

ARP 3.5 and AMS5844 are the same material. It is called MP35N and has a minimum tensile raitng of 260 ksi and it is almost impossible for it to corrode due to being 35% nickel, 20% chrome and around 35% cobalt. We used a lot of this material in the Aerospace fastener industry I used to work in.

As long as you have the proper stretch measurements it should be fine. You will absolutely have to resize the rods. The bolt is going to place more clamping load on the rod housing and will distort it differently than your original bolts.
__________________
1967 Camaro N/A SBC(10.19 @ 136 mph)
2006 GTO PBM/Black/M6 (gone but not forgotten)
2005 GTO PBM/Red/M6 (purchased 7-18-14 w/ 87K)
- 6.2 w/ LSX-LS7 heads & LSX454 cam / Kooks 1.875" / Exh / Whiteline Bushings / etc.
http://cole.balster.googlepages.com/home
ColeBalster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2019, 10:16 PM   #9
dakster1a
Member
Pullin gears
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 901
Default Re: A1 rod bolts in Eagle rods?

In my opinion you will never need more than an ARP 2000 bolt in an Eagle Rod. Those rods will come apart way before the ARP 2000 bolt will let go.
dakster1a is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2019, 08:57 AM   #10
RCM Racing engines
Senior Member
Smoked Another SBC
 
RCM Racing engines's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Pa
Posts: 8,543
Default

I wouldn't waste that bolt on such a junk ass rod.
Save them for some Carrillo or Crower , ultra rods.
__________________

Just an old' Mennonite..........
RCM Racing engines is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2019, 04:21 AM   #11
Dragula2
Wart Remover
Smoked another BBC
 
Dragula2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: East TN
Posts: 2,123
Default Re: A1 rod bolts in Eagle rods?

Just out of interest, what shop are you using?

The 2000 bolt is plenty. Whatever you do, don't put L19's in there!
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by TWINS101Z View Post
ITS SPELLED QUIET DUMB FUCK! QUIT AND QUIET HAVE TOO DIFFERENT MEANINGS. BUT YOUR COUNTRY ASS CAN'T FIGURE OUT THE DIFFERENCE YOU IGNORANT HILLBILLY MOTHERFUCKER!
Quote:
Originally Posted by TWINS101Z View Post
NO COMENT
Dragula2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2019, 08:45 AM   #12
Michael Lanigan
Big Trev is a great guy!
Smoked Another SBC
 
Michael Lanigan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 14,613
Default Re: A1 rod bolts in Eagle rods?

I have used the Callies Ultra bolts in the Compstar SBC rods...no issues....yet
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by groucho2 View Post
Mid 9s in the mid 80s in a 65 Vette I built for my thyen boss. You?

Michael Lanigan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2019, 09:18 AM   #13
Chevelle-Guy
Junior Member
Pre-Staged
 
Chevelle-Guy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Posts: 53
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dragula2 View Post
Just out of interest, what shop are you using?

The 2000 bolt is plenty. Whatever you do, don't put L19's in there!
Why not ?
Chevelle-Guy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2019, 10:08 AM   #14
RCM Racing engines
Senior Member
Smoked Another SBC
 
RCM Racing engines's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Pa
Posts: 8,543
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Chevelle-Guy View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dragula2 View Post
Just out of interest, what shop are you using?

The 2000 bolt is plenty. Whatever you do, don't put L19's in there!
Why not ?
Cause everybody is scare of the hydrogen embrittlement that can come from touching the bolt with your fingers or moisture....l personally never had a problem... Where gloves, keep the bolts oiled.

I've seen the bolt in a rod that spun a bearing bad bend and not break.......
__________________

Just an old' Mennonite..........
RCM Racing engines is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 11-11-2019, 10:13 AM   #15
bracketchev1221
Senior Member
Smoked another BBC
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Lancaster Pa
Posts: 1,764
Default Re: A1 rod bolts in Eagle rods?

Quote:
Originally Posted by RCM Racing engines View Post
Cause everybody is scare of the hydrogen embrittlement that can come from touching the bolt with your fingers or moisture....l personally never had a problem... Where gloves, keep the bolts oiled.

I've seen the bolt in a rod that spun a bearing bad bend and not break.......
I never had an issue with them either. It was all I used in my engines and back when I worked at the machine shop, it was all we used in the race engines. Granted there are other options now, but at the time, Eagle rods with the L-19 bolts was the affordable upgrade.
__________________
http://s30.photobucket.com/albums/c306/bracketchev1221/chevelle%20pics/?action=view&current=DSC01615.jpg
Best ET 8.87 at 151 @ 3200 lbs. Sold 3/18

New project 70 Chevelle SS396 restoration. Completion date????????
bracketchev1221 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:51 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Resources saved on this page: MySQL 0%
vBulletin Optimisation provided by vB Optimise (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Yellow Bullet LLC
 

Garage Plus vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.