th400 pump restrictor?? - Yellow Bullet Forums

Go Back   Yellow Bullet Forums > Technical Section > Transmission - Hutch's Transmission Service

Transmission - Hutch's Transmission Service

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-17-2012, 04:51 PM   #1
camaroman9
Member
Pullin gears
 
camaroman9's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Missouri
Posts: 944
Default th400 pump restrictor??

I took my car out for the second time last night and it blew the 6an hose out of the hose end on the transmission. I was told by a few people I need to put a restrictor in the front pump to keep the line pressure down while spooling the turbo. Where can I get one of these, and is it a difficult install, or something I could do by myself in the garage? Thanks in advance for any help.

Robert
__________________
C&S carbureted 388 SBC, PT106, TH400, e85
C&S carbureted 388 SBC, PT106, TH400, e85
Thanks to our 2013 sponsors!
http://www.timsbodyandglass.com
Foxrod Racing
Bentune Performance & Fabrication
Performance Coatings + (417)439-0546
Cutting Loose Graphics (417)626-2700
C&R Transmission (417)736-2191
5.35@135
8.36@167
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=G_ma...e_gdata_player
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UCmS...e_gdata_player
camaroman9 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 06-17-2012, 11:56 PM   #2
Hutch
Moderator
Smoked Another SBC
 
Hutch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: London Ontario Canada
Posts: 14,384
Default Re: th400 pump restrictor??

You can but if you have no trans knowledge it may not be the best first attempt.


Hutch
__________________
www.Hutchtrans.com
519-453-4318
Hutch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2012, 04:57 AM   #3
benno81
Junior Member
Burnout box
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 20
Default Re: th400 pump restrictor??

u need to pull the front pump off take apart and tap the converter feed hole and insert a grub screw that has a .100 (thats what I got told ppl have diff sizes)drilled in.
so unless u have trans expieriance better take it to someone or buy a book do some net searches and learn how to do it thats how I learnt after being ripped by 2 diff trans places not many good ones here in oz
benno81 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2012, 10:15 AM   #4
BigLar368
Senior Member
Smoked another BBC
 
BigLar368's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Port Neches, TX
Posts: 1,976
Default Re: th400 pump restrictor??

I had a similar problem but instead on blowing a cooler line the fluid pressure pushed my input shaft into the trans a runined the pressure plate the second time and ruined the case the first time before my trans guy figured out what was going on. My trans guy did exactly what Benno81 said except he made the orfice .150". I was lucky it did not knock out my thrust. Since the restrictor has been in I have made 10 good passes and about 100 street miles with no problems.
BigLar368 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2012, 10:09 PM   #5
rstyhok
Junior Member
Pre-Staged
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 91
Default Re: th400 pump restrictor??

should this be done on most or all drag racing trans (400) ?
thanks
rstyhok is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2012, 10:19 PM   #6
Packersfan
Senior Member
Smoked another BBC
 
Packersfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Iowa
Posts: 2,457
Default Re: th400 pump restrictor??

TH400 for sure and others if testing cooler circuit pressure deems it necessary.
Packersfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2012, 08:16 AM   #7
rstyhok
Junior Member
Pre-Staged
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 91
Default Re: th400 pump restrictor??

what size orfice should be drilled in the plug that is installed in pump?
thanks
rstyhok is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2012, 09:00 AM   #8
Packersfan
Senior Member
Smoked another BBC
 
Packersfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Iowa
Posts: 2,457
Default Re: th400 pump restrictor??

Initial size depends on input shaft being used. If it has a .125" lube hole passage in the shaft I'd start wtih a .150" restrictor. If the shaft has larger holes such as the .187" then size the restrictor to .200". OEM sizing is .265".
Packersfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2012, 06:50 AM   #9
BigLar368
Senior Member
Smoked another BBC
 
BigLar368's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Port Neches, TX
Posts: 1,976
Default Re: th400 pump restrictor??

What size do you suggest if the input shaft is solid/billet?
BigLar368 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2012, 08:06 AM   #10
rstyhok
Junior Member
Pre-Staged
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 91
Default Re: th400 pump restrictor??

Quote:
Originally Posted by BigLar368 View Post
What size do you suggest if the input shaft is solid/billet?
my question to ?
thanks
rstyhok is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2012, 08:59 AM   #11
Packersfan
Senior Member
Smoked another BBC
 
Packersfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Iowa
Posts: 2,457
Default Re: th400 pump restrictor??

If the input shaft has no provisions for flow around the bushing area you have some things to do. If it's a converter that has a bushing for the turbine hub which most do, you need to ensure there is a flow path where the bushing in the stator tube is at. TCI for one machines 4 slots in the bushing surface of their aftermarket shaft. You could also use a bushing with grooving, or remove it all together again presuming the converter has one in it.
Packersfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2012, 01:41 PM   #12
rstyhok
Junior Member
Pre-Staged
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 91
Default Re: th400 pump restrictor??

i did leave the bushing out of the end off the stater tube.....but do i need to install restrictor plug and drill orfice hole and if so how big should the orfice hole be?
thanks
rstyhok is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2012, 02:29 PM   #13
Packersfan
Senior Member
Smoked another BBC
 
Packersfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Iowa
Posts: 2,457
Default Re: th400 pump restrictor??

I'd start with .150" and hook into the cooler line with a T fitting to check pressure with an accurate gauge.
Packersfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2012, 08:14 PM   #14
rstyhok
Junior Member
Pre-Staged
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 91
Default Re: th400 pump restrictor??

OK .....what or how much pressure should I be looking for and what is to much? I looped the cooler lines , also can i plug the inlet and dump the fluid back to the trans pan?
thanks

Last edited by rstyhok; 06-20-2012 at 08:18 PM.
rstyhok is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2012, 08:23 PM   #15
camaroman9
Member
Pullin gears
 
camaroman9's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Missouri
Posts: 944
Default Re: th400 pump restrictor??

I found a guy today, that will do it cheap enough, that I'm not even going to bother trying it myself. Some things are better left to an experienced professional.
__________________
C&S carbureted 388 SBC, PT106, TH400, e85
C&S carbureted 388 SBC, PT106, TH400, e85
Thanks to our 2013 sponsors!
http://www.timsbodyandglass.com
Foxrod Racing
Bentune Performance & Fabrication
Performance Coatings + (417)439-0546
Cutting Loose Graphics (417)626-2700
C&R Transmission (417)736-2191
5.35@135
8.36@167
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=G_ma...e_gdata_player
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UCmS...e_gdata_player
camaroman9 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:28 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Garage Plus vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.
Resources saved on this page: MySQL 2.67%
vBulletin Optimisation provided by vB Optimise (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2014 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Yellow Bullet LLC