Using Blender on SS - Yellow Bullet Forums

Go Back   Yellow Bullet Forums > Technical Section > Auto Body and Paint - Paint by Krusty

Auto Body and Paint - Paint by Krusty

Old 10-01-2011, 08:13 PM   #1
flyboy68
Spooled up

Default Using Blender on SS

I've never used blender before but I have a big panel on an airplane to paint and there's no edges anywhere close...sooo i'm trying out blending...lol. Painted a lot, never blended single stage or clear before. My question is after spraying the last coat of paint, and then have added the blender, do you spray all of your newly laid paint as well as feathering the edge out further? Or do you just have to use the blender/paint on the feathered edge? Hopefully that makes sense...

Josh
flyboy68 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 10-01-2011, 08:45 PM   #2
flyboy68
Spooled up

Default Re: Using Blender on SS

I just realized after thinking, you shouldn't have to spray the whole panel because the blender/paint will have no problem "melting" into the "wet" paint. Just wanted to make sure I didn't have to shoot the whole panel.
Old 10-01-2011, 10:12 PM   #3
markadams
Smoked Another SBC

Josh, it is nearly impossible to blend today's clear coats. I have done it, but most of the time it doesn't work out, especially on a large panel. I usually just over reduce the remanding clear after coverage and blend into a lightly skuffed panel. Buff lightly if needed. Too much buffing will make it worse. Clearing the whole panel to a break is recommended.