Spec Engine Drag Racing - Coyote Stock - Yellow Bullet Forums

Go Back   Yellow Bullet Forums > Fire your bullets!!! > Trash Or Be Trashed

Trash Or Be Trashed Where the weak are killed and eaten!!!! Vulgar language and nudity may be enclosed!! NWS

Old 02-08-2011, 01:08 PM   #1
KenB
Smoked Another SBC

Default Spec Engine Drag Racing - Coyote Stock

Just wondering what everyone on Yellow Bullet thinks of this idea. I've been racing or crewing for guys in the NMRA for 7 years now. I have always been involved in the slower classes, Factory Stock, Pure Street and Real Street. I realize this board is made up more of the faster outlaw cars, but still wanted to get this idea out there.

For those of you not familiar with these NMRA classes or how the NMRA operates, let me give you a quick rundown of what all the racers like and what they don't.

All of the guys in these classes are there because they want to race heads up. And they choose these classes (or have in the past) because of cost. Not everyone can run outlaw DR. Over time, these classes have gotten out of control with cost (as does most heads up classes). When I started in the NMRA Pure Street would get 16+ cars to show sometimes. Same with Real Street. Now, 3 or 4 cars.

The biggest problem is the rules. You are trying to get too many different combinations matched up and fair. So when one person finds an advantage (that undoubtedly cost way too much to find) it usually gets taken away with a rule change. This hugely encourages sandbagging.

Most of the people in these classes are sick of all the work that goes in only to be rewarded with a lead trophy.

So the idea is this...