hourly pay + 1099 = illegal ??? - Yellow Bullet Forums

Go Back   Yellow Bullet Forums > Fire your bullets!!! > Trash Or Be Trashed

Trash Or Be Trashed Where the weak are killed and eaten!!!! Vulgar language and nudity may be enclosed!! NWS

Old 05-16-2010, 10:31 PM   #1
dsmawd350
Launchin

Default hourly pay + 1099 = illegal ???

Hope some of you older experienced people on here can add some good info for me.

Just as some back info I was doing custom hardwood floors for nearly 3 yrs. for 2 yrs i was making $22/hr as an emplyee. at a later point they forced us all to become 1099 subcontractors and our pay increased to 33/hr as a base pay for patch work repairs etc, but we were payed by the job/square footage.

now up to current, the economy has forced me to go back to doing landscaping which i started learning when i was out of highscool. ( paver patios, retaining walls etc.). The guy i started working for apparently 1099's all his employees and still only pays them 10-12/hr based on experience. I know for a fact that there are dozens of landscaping companies around that pay similar or better wages while being an actual employee with workers comp coverage social security etc. Is it absolutely rediculous for this guy to be paying people those wages and 1099'ing them?

I've also heard it may be illegal to pay that low of an hrly wage to a 1099 contractor because after paying taxes, SS, etc its below minimum wage?
dsmawd350 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 05-16-2010, 10:38 PM   #2
Green&Silver95
Smoked another BBC

Default Re: hourly pay + 1099 = illegal ???

when i was younger i worked for a fab shop, got a 1099 i made 7500 and owed 1500 in taxes!!!!!!! Get some good lube cause ur about to get fucked!
Green&Silver95 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2010, 10:39 PM   #3
cmccarthy
Tellin' it like it is
Smoked Another SBC

Nothing illegal about it that I'm aware of.

BAITTFMF
cmccarthy is offline   Reply With Quote