Nitrous question - Yellow Bullet Forums

Go Back   Yellow Bullet Forums > Technical Section > Nitrous - Induction Solutions

Nitrous - Induction Solutions

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-06-2012, 02:41 AM   #1
cavalierattitude
Junior Member
Pre-Staged
 
cavalierattitude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Tarkington, Texas
Posts: 89
Default Nitrous question

Ok guys gonna try and make this as short as possible. Have a 632 on three systems. 36n30f, 28n22f, 28n24f, i have two ten pound bottles in the car. The six jet spread 36 and the 4 jet spread 28 are on one bottle and the 6 jet 28 is on the other. Now the car is running some great numbers and the tune looks really good, maybe a little fat. have fuel at 5, 4.8, and 4.5 and about 10 degrees total timing. My question is as the car goes down track at the 330 mark you can hear and also see the exhaust flame fade in and out and can hear a slight surge(very slight). Do you think maybe the 10 lb bottle is not enough to support the 36 and 28 jet?
cavalierattitude is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 05-06-2012, 02:47 AM   #2
Seattle_Mike
Senior Member
Smoked Another SBC
 
Seattle_Mike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Near Seattle
Posts: 8,965
Default Re: Nitrous question

Usually people connect the lines coming from the bottles together up by the back of the intake manifold so they balance each other out. You should weigh each bottle after every run and it will tell you what's happening. Also you should have a pressure sensor on each bottle for a data logger...it will help tell you what's going on. That's a pretty sporty tuneup for a 632.
__________________
68 Camaro ProMod - R-M 846 - Rossler 210

www.yvonnelucasracing.com


Seattle_Mike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2012, 02:57 AM   #3
cavalierattitude
Junior Member
Pre-Staged
 
cavalierattitude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Tarkington, Texas
Posts: 89
Default Re: Nitrous question

I did weigh the bottles and doesnt seem to use very much nitrous for the two system bottle, approx 3 to 3.5 lbs. Just thought maybe the ten pounder didnt have enough volumn for those two systems
cavalierattitude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2012, 03:41 AM   #4
lepus
Senior Member
Smoked another BBC
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: wonderland labs, aka "the rabbit hole"
Posts: 1,196
Default Re: Nitrous question

i would not use 1 bottle for 2 of those kits..is this a 1/8 mile racer?..get a bottle for each kit, and quit fooling around..it will be faster, and more consistent..do you have room for 15lbers?

keep bottle use to less than 25%, and 15% is better..
lepus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2012, 03:42 AM   #5
lepus
Senior Member
Smoked another BBC
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: wonderland labs, aka "the rabbit hole"
Posts: 1,196
Default Re: Nitrous question

depending how it is plumbed, the dual systems may be pulling from each other..not groovy..
lepus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2012, 09:47 AM   #6
buschmec
Regrouping......
Smoked another BBC
 
buschmec's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: panama city, florida
Posts: 3,384
Default Re: Nitrous question

thats not a volume problem with the bottle, how do the plugs look? we run alot more than that on one and don't have an issue. you need to keep looking
__________________
Casey Buschmeyer, Buschmeyer Racing
buschmec is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2012, 09:49 AM   #7
topfueldragster
Junior Member
Launchin
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 397
Default Re: Nitrous question

Just switch the bottles around - ONE bottle for the 36jet and the other bottle for BOTH the 28's. Now this might not be your issue - but it's def better than the way you are doing it. Just makes ALOT more sense anyway. Just my opinion ;-)
topfueldragster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2012, 11:57 AM   #8
Monte Smith
The nitrous guy
Smoked Another SBC
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: North Alabama
Posts: 6,309
Default Re: Nitrous question

Pro-Mod cars, that run in the 5s, on 4 guns, use (2) 10lb bottles...............that is not the problem. You say the tune looks "pretty good", from my experience, what you listed would be WAY rich, especially that last one.

Monte
__________________

Monte Smith
Motorsports Technical Representative
Nitrous Oxide Systems
www.montesmithperformance.com
gtxmonte@msn.com
ph. 256-783-3418
Monte Smith is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2012, 03:49 PM   #9
cavalierattitude
Junior Member
Pre-Staged
 
cavalierattitude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Tarkington, Texas
Posts: 89
Default Re: Nitrous question

Yea i know the 4 jet spread is not what i normaly what i would run, but its the under the plenum kit. Monte how can compensate with one of the other kits so i dont have to pull the intake..lol
cavalierattitude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2012, 03:55 PM   #10
Power Mad Racing
Senior Member
Smoked Another SBC
 
Power Mad Racing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 13,610
Default Re: Nitrous question

never do that, pull the top and put jets in it ..
lazy gats you in trouble
__________________



Power Mad Racing
S & E Performance

2013 OUTLAW 632 CHAMPION
Power Mad Racing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2012, 03:56 PM   #11
Mean Lx
Gas Passer
Smoked another BBC
 
Mean Lx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Crestview, Fl.
Posts: 3,459
Default Re: Nitrous question

You're going to have to pull the plenum...just make that the first kit. Get it tuned properly by itself, then bring the others on board. Much easier to change the jets for the other systems than the one underneath the plenum. James
__________________
SOMETHING WICKED THIS WAY COMES



Thanks to Sam Vincent, Joey Martin, Induction Solutions, and Bruce Oliver
Mean Lx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2012, 10:54 PM   #12
onefast68
Senior Member
Smoked Another SBC
 
onefast68's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: down south in texico..obama doesnt care.
Posts: 8,466
Default Re: Nitrous question

Quote:
Originally Posted by cavalierattitude View Post
I did weigh the bottles and doesnt seem to use very much nitrous for the two system bottle, approx 3 to 3.5 lbs. Just thought maybe the ten pounder didnt have enough volumn for those two systems
it wouldnt be the volume,more the limit of the valves ..i tie mine together,,and when i pull them out they always weigh the same.
__________________


68 camaro..3300lbs........
big duke 632 with 2 kits ..
4.95 at 145.8 ................
onefast68 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2012, 10:01 AM   #13
Induction-Solutions
Moderator
Smoked Another SBC
 
Induction-Solutions's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Florida
Posts: 10,382
Default Re: Nitrous question

Looks like most are heading you in the right direction. Two 10# bottles will do what you need if you correct the tunes and supply the kits properly. Depending on how your kits are configured will determine if you can move the largest tune to the underside ?? But if you have a first stage that's as much as you can leave on and tuned in pretty good, move it to the hard to get to system and forget about it. Then start working on getting your third cleaned up and even the second. If they were mine, I would be looking at opening up the spreads as well as getting the fuel pressure back up over 5 PSI too.. Thanks, SJ
__________________
Steve Johnson
Please check out our nitrous forum at....
www.InductionSolutions.com
www.woodys-plumbing.com
http://www.facebook.com/#!/pages/Induction-Solutions/106171102739096
815-341-8853 Cell
352-593-5900 Parts/Shop
NOSMAN1@aol.com
Induction-Solutions is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:48 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Garage Plus vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.
Resources saved on this page: MySQL 2.86%
vBulletin Optimisation provided by vB Optimise (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2014 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Yellow Bullet LLC