Upgraded to a 6AL-2 msd digital box from the old style 6AL. Runs rough - Yellow Bullet Forums

Go Back   Yellow Bullet Forums > Technical Section > Tech Questions - Monson Racing

Tech Questions - Monson Racing

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-23-2012, 08:16 AM   #1
nosjunkie
Junior Member
Spooled up
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 225
Default Upgraded to a 6AL-2 msd digital box from the old style 6AL. Runs rough

Just changed my old style 6al box for the new 6al-2 with the 2 step. With no other changes, the car seems to load up and misfire. Also is harder to crank now. Doesn't sound normal to me. Car is also like 2 mph off from before as well. What is wrong? And should I have to change my tune from before? Thanks for any advice..
nosjunkie is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 04-23-2012, 08:33 AM   #2
68camaro
Junior Member
Burnout box
 
68camaro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: SW Ohio
Posts: 28
Default Re: Upgraded to a 6AL-2 msd digital box from the old style 6AL. Runs rough

Did you reset the timing? I think it might change when you changed the box.
68camaro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2012, 08:55 AM   #3
nosjunkie
Junior Member
Spooled up
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 225
Default Re: Upgraded to a 6AL-2 msd digital box from the old style 6AL. Runs rough

I didn't touch the timing. It's a locked out msd billet distributor. All I did was cut and splice wires for the new box.
nosjunkie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2012, 09:21 AM   #4
351Blueblood
Senior Member
Smoked Another SBC
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 4,078
Default Re: Upgraded to a 6AL-2 msd digital box from the old style 6AL. Runs rough

Did you get one of those fake MSD's?
351Blueblood is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2012, 09:31 AM   #5
raceadodge
Senior Member
Smoked another BBC
 
raceadodge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 1,918
Default Re: Upgraded to a 6AL-2 msd digital box from the old style 6AL. Runs rough

Quote:
Originally Posted by nosjunkie View Post
Just changed my old style 6al box for the new 6al-2 with the 2 step. With no other changes, the car seems to load up and misfire. Also is harder to crank now. Doesn't sound normal to me. Car is also like 2 mph off from before as well. What is wrong? And should I have to change my tune from before? Thanks for any advice..
I did the samething recheck your timing, You may also need a bigger dist cap & roter
raceadodge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2012, 10:09 AM   #6
nosjunkie
Junior Member
Spooled up
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 225
Default Re: Upgraded to a 6AL-2 msd digital box from the old style 6AL. Runs rough

Distributor is a small base MSD billet. Can't really run a bigger cap and rotor button.
nosjunkie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2012, 10:10 AM   #7
nosjunkie
Junior Member
Spooled up
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 225
Default Re: Upgraded to a 6AL-2 msd digital box from the old style 6AL. Runs rough

Quote:
Originally Posted by 351Blueblood View Post
Did you get one of those fake MSD's?
What are the fake MSD's? This is the real one not fake.
nosjunkie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2012, 11:51 AM   #8
yeti
Senior Member
Smoked Another SBC
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 13,109
Default Re: Upgraded to a 6AL-2 msd digital box from the old style 6AL. Runs rough

Quote:
Originally Posted by nosjunkie View Post
I didn't touch the timing. It's a locked out msd billet distributor. All I did was cut and splice wires for the new box.
At the first connector from the distributor to the wire harness, the purple wire from the distributor pickup does not go to the purple wire in the harness.

Distributor purple to green, distributor orange to purple.
yeti is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2012, 11:59 AM   #9
fastman-99
Senior Member
Smoked another BBC
 
fastman-99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Wakeman,Ohio
Posts: 1,632
Default Re: Upgraded to a 6AL-2 msd digital box from the old style 6AL. Runs rough

always recheck timing when swapping out boxes. all boxes are different. It might not be your problem, but it is probably off 2-3deg. one way or the other.
__________________
first ever ride of the month on www.s10dragracer.com
http://www.getphpbb.com/phpbb/viewfo...ecacc38067a2b8
fastman-99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2012, 01:01 PM   #10
55sedan
Senior Member
Smoked another BBC
 
55sedan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Gods Country (Mississippi)
Posts: 2,165
Default Re: Upgraded to a 6AL-2 msd digital box from the old style 6AL. Runs rough

Quote:
Originally Posted by fastman-99 View Post
always recheck timing when swapping out boxes. all boxes are different. It might not be your problem, but it is probably off 2-3deg. one way or the other.
X2 --- Ive got the same box and I believe I had to advance mine 4 degrees.
__________________
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pJiUlZloEiU

9.71 @ 136.2 w/1.37 60' Best to Date on Motor
Homemade Stuff / Small Town Car Freak
55sedan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2012, 02:29 PM   #11
nosjunkie
Junior Member
Spooled up
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 225
Default Re: Upgraded to a 6AL-2 msd digital box from the old style 6AL. Runs rough

It's a part # 6421 box. So I basically need to hook up the timing light again and set timing to what I normally run by turning the distributor? Thanks
nosjunkie is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:08 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Garage Plus vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.
Resources saved on this page: MySQL 3.51%
vBulletin Optimisation provided by vB Optimise (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2014 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Yellow Bullet LLC